Things to do - general

Bintan Island or Negeri Segantang Lada is an island in the Riau archipelago of Indonesia. It is part of the Riau Islands province, the capital of which, Tanjung Pinang, lies in the island’s south and is the island’s main community.

Bintan’s land area is 2,402.28 square kilometres (927.53 sq mi) (total area is 60,057 square kilometres (23,188 sq mi) including 96% sea area). Its administrative region is designated the Bintan Island Regency, one of the six administrative regions of the Riau Islands province. The city of Tanjung Pinang is an autonomous area within the Bintan Island.

Bintan’s history is traced to the early 3rd century. The island flourished as a trading post on the route between China and India, and over the centuries it came under the control of the Chinese, the British, and then the Dutch when it was declared part of the Dutch East Indies through the Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1824. In the 12th century, the Bintan island in the Strait of Malacca was known as the “Pirate Island” since the Malay pirates used to loot trading ships sailing in these waters.

Singapore, the closest major city, is a 45-50 minute trip by motorised catamaran across the Singapore Strait from Bintan Resort area in the northwest of the island. The island has beaches with beach-front International hotels and resorts; the most prominent of these beaches is the Bintan Resorts set over an area of 300 hectares (740 acres) of tropical environment. The archipelago of the Riau islands is right opposite to this resort across the South China Sea. Indonesia is promoting Bintan as the next best tourist destination after Bali.

Country Indonesia
Area 2,402.28
Languages spoken Bahasa
Currency IDR
Visa requirements CATEGORY 1 Nationals from these countries are exempted from entry visas into Indonesia. 1. Brunei Darussalam 9. Thailand 2. Chile 10. Peru 3. Singapore 11. Vietnam 4 .Malaysia 12. Ecuador 5. Morocco 13. Cambodia 6. Hong Kong SAR* 14. Laos 7. Macau SAR* 15. Myanmar 8. Philippines * SAR – Special Administrative Region Nationals from these countries are eligible to apply for Visa On Arrival into Indonesia. 1. Argentina 23. Italy 45. Sweden 2. Australia 24. Japan 46. Switzerland 3. Austria 25. Kuwait 47. Taiwan 4. Bahrain 26. Liechtenstein 48. United Arab Emirates 5. Belgium 27. Luxembourg 49. United Kingdom 6. Brazil 28. Maldives 50. United States of America 7. Bulgaria 29. Malta 51. Algeria 8. Cambodia 30. Mexico 52. Czech Republic 9. Canada 31. Monaco 53. Fiji 10. China 32. Netherlands 54. Latvia 11. Cyprus 33. New Zealand 55. Libya 12. Denmark 34. Norway 56. Lithuania 13. Egypt 35. Oman 57. Panama 14. Estonia 36. Poland 58. Romania 15. Finland 37. Portugal 59. Slovakia 16. France 38. Qatar 60. Slovenia 17. Germany 39. Russia 61. Tunisia 18. Greece 40. Saudi Arabia 62. Timor Leste 19. Hungary 41. South Africa 63. Turkey 20. Iceland 42. South Korea 21. India 43. Spain 22. Ireland 44. Suriname

Sports and nature

Sports and nature Golf & Water Sports (diving, water skiing, jet skiing, scuba-dive and snorkel

Unfortunately there are no hotels at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.